November 29 2023 0Comment


The 7th General Assembly of the African Ombudsman and Mediators Association, AOMA has elected the Chief Ombudsman of Nigeria, Hon. ABIMBOLA AYO-YUSUF as the new Deputy Secretary General of the Association. The Honourable Chief Commissioner was before this election the Coordinator of AOMA in the West African Region. A position held by the Commission from 2018 to 2023.

The 7th General Assembly which started on the 27th and will be ending tomorrow 30th November, 2023 held its election today in Kigali, Rwanda.

Other new AOMA executive Committee office bearers included the following:
President – ANGOLA – Hon.Antónia Florbela De Jesus Rocha Araújo,
1st Vice President – UGANDA – Hon. Beti Kamya Turwomwe, 2nd Vice President – RÉPUBLIQUE CENTRAFRICAINE (RCA/CAR) – Hon. Laurent Ngon-Baba, Secretary-General – ZAMBIA – Hon. Caroline Sokoni, Treasurer – BENIN – Hon. Pascal Essou and Deputy Treasurer – GABON – Hon. Alexis BOUTAMBA MBINA

The theme of this year’s General Assembly ” Navigating ethical dilemmas in Mediation and Ombudsman roles” dwelled on the roles of the Ombudsman and Mediators as well as AOMA in promoting good governance in Africa, especially in relation to promoting good administrative justice, integrity and human rights.

The Assembly reaffirmed the individual and collective willingness of Ombudsman and Mediators to supporting the efforts of the African Union towards improving the rule of law, , transparency, accountability in public administration and contributing towards a conflict free Africa.

The meeting advocated for the promotion of private mediation in Africa and to ensure that mediation is a pre-requisite procedure before courts of Law, reinforced whistleblowing Protection Mechanisms for encouraging report of unethical practices among others.

The General Assembly appreciated the Government and the Ombudsman of Rwanda for hosting this timely General Assembly for Ombudsman/ Mediators within the African continent.

Present at the 7th General Assembly of AOMA representing member Institutions from Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Egypt, Gabon, Gambia, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Libya, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Uganda, South Africa, Seychelles, Tanzania, and Zambia.


Write a Reply or Comment